Page 1 of 1

Nummy's Rig Needs Facelift

Posted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 10:18 pm
by Nummy
Nummy and his rig need a facelift.
Works fine in BoBP except in furballs, etc.
Here's what I have for specs.

Processor AMD Phenom X6 1100T 3.30 GHz
8 Gigs RAM
64 bit
GeForce GTX 650ti

Looks to me like everything needs to be replaced, but funds aren't there.
I'm thinking of a 1071ti, they're relatively cheap now and just toss it in and see what happens.
Anyway, if you spot the bottleneck let me know.
Cheers

Re: Nummy's Rig Needs Facelift

Posted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 10:21 pm
by Eddie
What is the motherboard, power supply and do you have good cooling? Those are needed to really advise too, it could make some potential issues otherwise.

Re: Nummy's Rig Needs Facelift

Posted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 10:23 pm
by Nummy
Gee, I'll have to dig in andand see.
More when I know more.
Thanks

Re: Nummy's Rig Needs Facelift

Posted: Sun Dec 08, 2019 10:25 pm
by Moggy
I think your 650 gtx is a bottle neck there. A 1070 ti should be a big improvement over that.

Re: Nummy's Rig Needs Facelift

Posted: Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:46 pm
by Nummy
Yep, I think so too Moggs.
But a bigger problem--the internet connection here doesn't stay connected more than five minutes.
Will speak with the house owners.
It's ATT and I've seen three of them in the US that really don't work.
The US is fortieth internationally, in internet service, behind Turkey, so I read.
There's no real oversight so they do about anything they want.
But yes, the 1070 ti's are decently priced now.
Thanks Moggs

Re: Nummy's Rig Needs Facelift

Posted: Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:22 am
by Chris-NO
Sadly,

My oppinion, is that your whole rig is a bottleneck.

The CPU is ancient. It's not only about clockspeed. There's a lot of other factors. Look at the clockspeeds of todays CPUs. They are not much higher than those dating 5+ years back.
My CPU is a i5-4670K overclocked to 4.4ghz, a new i9-9900K is not that much faster(5ghz@turbo, and turbo is only intermittent) clockspeed vise, but it will absolutely out perform my CPU because of a lot of other factors.
8gb ram is fine, BUT it's only DDR3 and slow(AMD is picky about ram speed, Intel not so much, but still)
The graphics card is also pretty outdated.

If you want to upgrade, you're gonna have to basically build a new computer.
Your motherboard wont fit a newer CPU because of the socket.
A new CPU wont accept your current RAM because DDR3 isn't supported anymore on newer CPUs.

The only thing you're actually able to upgrade, is your GPU, but then your CPU will become a huge bottleneck. Your GPU will have to wait a lot for the CPU to process information and send it to the GPU. That can give you stutters and other performance issues.

You could still use your case, storage, PSU(hopefully) etc..

But I would actually go for an almost new and clean build. Old PSUs can become a timebomb, and suddenly break down. Especially if they are old, and of lower quality.

IL-2 has actually become relatively heavy with the latest updates. My computers performance ingame has taken a hit of -30-40% FPS and I've been experiencing stutters.

Re: Nummy's Rig Needs Facelift

Posted: Fri Dec 13, 2019 12:18 pm
by Nummy
Chris, probably right.
Time for a New One.
Thanks

Re: Nummy's Rig Needs Facelift

Posted: Fri Dec 13, 2019 1:27 pm
by Sparky
Nummy wrote:
Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:46 pm
...the internet connection here doesn't stay connected more than five minutes.
...The US is fortieth internationally, in internet service, behind Turkey, so I read.
There's no real oversight so they do about anything they want.
I've had excellent internet in the US. ATT in my neighborhood is 360MB but I use Spectrum with 600 or so MB. My wife has a house where we used to live and she works near there. That house has fiber optic 1TB internet and it's in a rural area. Missouri is not the IT posh area so most places have equal or better unless you live on a mountaintop [which I did before marriage and moving to Misery.]

Re: Nummy's Rig Needs Facelift

Posted: Tue Dec 17, 2019 8:08 pm
by Nummy
The connection is better.
My cousin did a reset on it, and now it stays online.
My rig is still slow and clunky, but provides some fun.
But it's time for a new rig.