The Tangmere Pilots extend a warm welcome to visitors in the Guest Room. Please feel free to register, drop by the Guest Room to say hello. If you are looking to join a squadron, we are currently recruiting. You can browse the rest of our site to see if The Tangmere Pilots fit what you are looking for.

GPU or CPU

Get advice on your tackle, or for Charlie to ask questions when he's broken his computer.

Moderators: Reggie, Tom

Post Reply
User avatar
Hunter
Flight Lieutenant
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 11:11 am
Location: North of Watford
Contact:

GPU or CPU

Post by Hunter »

I am speculating on trying to fly the FW campaign in VR. I suppose because I really should try get into VR and the FW cockpit experience really is dramatically different in VR. However the Graphic experience is not good with my existing set up.

So do I upgrade the GPU (GTX1060 3GB) or the CPU( i5-3570k 3.4 overclocked to 4.2) The motherboard a ASUS p8277-V-LK is a limitation.
Allowing for a GTX1070 and an i7-3770K. AS far as I can determine (EAOE}
No points for second best.


Only dead fish swim with the stream.

Gosho
Flight Sergeant
Flight Sergeant
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 10:44 pm
Contact:

Re: GPU or CPU

Post by Gosho »

Hunter wrote:
Thu May 14, 2020 8:52 pm
....
So do I upgrade the GPU (GTX1060 3GB) or the CPU( i5-3570k 3.4 overclocked to 4.2)
Yes.

User avatar
Prangster
Pilot Officer
Pilot Officer
Posts: 644
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: Bristol
Contact:

Re: GPU or CPU

Post by Prangster »

The i7 3770K won't give you much of a boost in IL-2 VR. You'd need to invest in a new motherboard, processor and RAM.

The GTX1070 will give you extra graphics quality, any better video card than that and you are probably bottle necked by the CPU. Having more than 3GB of graphics memory will help with 4K skins.

One way to check is with MSI Afterburner software, if your GPU isn't at 100% load then you are CPU limited.
F/Sgt. Prangster
Green 2, No.601 Sqn
Image

User avatar
Jacko
Air Vice Marshall
Air Vice Marshall
Posts: 3784
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Clog Land and UK
Contact:

Re: GPU or CPU

Post by Jacko »

The eternal question Hunter. 10 years ago I was going through similar questions
Special recognition - Odious Mission Designer
VVS Rank: Starshina of the 32nd IAD Fighter Aviation Regiment.
RAF Rank: F/Lt Jacko No1 Squadron (JX-J) & No1 Sqd Press Officer
LW Rank: Feldwebel

"Use speed get close, get closer and make every bullet count "

"The only proper defense is offense"
.......Air Vice-Marshall J.E "Johnnie" Johnson, RAF
https://www.tangmere-museum.org.uk/
Image

User avatar
Hunter
Flight Lieutenant
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 11:11 am
Location: North of Watford
Contact:

Re: GPU or CPU

Post by Hunter »

The GPU load is 100% in the MSI Kombuster test, so presumably the CPU has some grunt left in it. I think it's possible to overclock it even more.

Edit: !00% was the first test, in the Furmark test it was only 99% at 2560x1440 and I cannotb get it to test at 3840x2160.

Edit: Oh and the existing GPU is itself overclocked.
No points for second best.


Only dead fish swim with the stream.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest